Meteoritical Society Council Meeting Invitees Meteoritical Society Council Meeting Online Meeting – 3pm (EST) October 26, 2018

Past President Invitee

Michael Zolensky

Council Members Invitees

Trevor Ireland (Pres.) Caroline Smith

Mini Wadhwa (VP) Keiko Nakamura-Messenger

Candace Kohl (Treas.) Christine Floss

Mike Weisberg (Sec.) Maria Eugenia Varela

Catherine Corrigan (and Elements) François Robert
Mario Trieloff Pierre Rochette

Council Member Regrets

none

Agenda 0.0 Welcome 15:00 15:10 1.0 President's report 2.0 Secretary's report 15:20 2.1 Nomination committee results (already ratified but will review) 2.2 Website 2.2.1 Hosting of the website 2.2.2 Renewal of the domain name (due end of this year!) 2.2.3 Status of EC website update 3.0 Treasurer's report 15:30 4.0 Other Issues to Discuss 15:50 4.1 Money – donations – how to use them effectively for Society goals, ex. The O. Richard Norton Award (\$10,000 per year and will donate 5 years worth of funds as an initial contribution - \$50,000). 4.2 External Audit – professional accounting (Candace?) 4.3 Contract with Wiley 4.4 Awards and Fellows (even-numbered years) 4.5 Crater Nomenclature Committee – do we need to revisit this? 4.6 Need to encourage Annual Meeting Proposals for 2022. Proposers for 2022 may not be present at Moscow meeting. 5.0 Elements 16:10 6.0 New Business 16:20

1.0 President's Report

Trevor Ireland welcomed council to the web meeting and thanked everyone for participating in a test trial online meeting.

On the issue of developing an impact crater nomenclature committee, the impact community seems to be split. It was suggested that the crater community be surveyed and that the advocates of a crater nomenclature committee have a meeting and put together a proposal.

2.0 Secretary's report (Mike Weisberg)

Nomination Committee results ratified by Council.

The slate of officers and councilors for 2019-2020 is:

Vice President Brigitte Zanda (Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle, Paris)

Secretary Munir Humayun (Florida State University)
Treasurer Karen Ziegler (University New Mexico).

1st term Councilors Neyda Abreu (Pennsylvania State University)

Chris Herd (Uviversity of Alberta)

Takashi Mikouchi (University of Tokyo).

2nd term Councilors Cari Corrigan (Smithsonian Institution)

Christine Floss (Washington University)
Pierre Rochette (CEREGE, France)

Mario Trieloff (Universität Heidelberg, Germany)

Maria Eugenia Varela (ICATE, Argentina)

According to the constitution of The Society, nominations for other candidates require a petition signed by at least 3% of the society's members (~30 members) and should be submitted to the Secretary by February 15, 2018. If no candidates are nominated other than those listed above, the Secretary will declare the candidates listed elected by affirmation.

Website

Hosting of The Society website and domain Name. The domain name needs to be renewed in January 2018. The Website is currently administered by Techneco Services and our contract with them ends in June 2018. The Society has to either renew with Techneco or contract another administrator

Council voted to approve the update for the *Grants and Gifts* section of the website

Newsletter has been submitted to MaPS for circulation.

Candace Kohl moved to accept the Secretary's report, Cari Corrigan seconded the motion and all voted in favor of the report.

3.0 Treasurer's report (Candace Kohl)

Final accounting from Santa Fe Meeting is due.

The process of loaning money for the Moscow meeting has been worked out.

The distribution of awards for the Moscow meeting is still an issue. Checks from US banks and wire transfers all have problems and fees associated with them. Candace will write up a policy on the distribution of awards and come back to council.

The O. Richard Norton Award was discussed. It was suggested that the award go to Early Career Scientists (within 5 years of receiving their PhD). Candace will write a description for the award.

Cari Corrigan motioned to accept the O. Richard Norton Award as a travel award for the Annual Meeting, details and description of the award to be worked out by Candace Kohl. Maria Varela seconded the motion and all present voted in favor.

Mike Weisberg motioned to accept the Treasurer's report, Caroline Smith seconded the motion and all voted in favor of accepting the report.

4.0 Additional issues discussed

External Audit needs to be addressed.

Contract with Wiley is expiring. Trevor Ireland will discuss the contract with Tim Jull.

Awards and Fellows. The Secretary will send reminders to members to nominate their colleagues for awards. Mini Wadhwa suggested including a statement about considering gender balance when submitting nominations.

Need to encourage Annual Meeting Proposals for 2022. One concern is that proposers for 2022 may not be present at Moscow meeting.

Mike Zolensky reported on past interest from Paris, Brazil and Ontario and possibly from Perth and Maine for hosting future meetings.

5.0 Elements

Carri Corrigan reported on Elements. She discussed the list of suggested new editors for Elements

Job postings can be listed for free in Elements online.

6.0 New Business

John Wasson asked council to raise the issue of a monetary award for Leonard Medal Winners. Tabled until March meeting.

Adjournment. Council unanimously voted in favor of adjourning the meeting.