COUNCIL MEETING, THE SOCIETY FOR RESEARCH ON METEORITES Third Meeting, 1937-1941 Council Flagstaff, Arizona, June 24, 1941

President Nininger, presiding

Secretary Webb, Treasurer Brady, Editor Leonard. (ex-officio member), Councilor Whitney, and by invitation President-elect La Paz, Secretary-elect Cleminshaw, and Councilor-elect Monnig in attendance.

Minutes of the last meeting were circulated, and their reading dispensed with by motion.

- National Defense: Moved new Council consider matter of contribution through meteorite detectors, new irons that might be exploited, etc. Council recommended a Committee be appointed by the incoming Administration.
- Membership and. Membership Problems: The Council voted to request the incoming Secretary to send letters of invitation to membership to the following: H. J.
 Detrick, Pantar, Lanao, Philippine Islands (name suggested by Nininger), H. O...
 Beyer, University of the Philippine Islands, Manila, P. I. (Name suggested by La Paz). Mr. Gus Cranz, Jr., Fort Worth, Texas (name suggested by O. E. Monnig)
- Publications Problems: Recommend that the incoming Council consider matters of publication, particularly as they relate to our own publications. Present Medium also discussed. Endowment in relation to publications also discussed.

Regional Branches: inquiry as to status and general problem discussed.

- Program of Meetings: Secretary suggested the advance in date of receipt of papers for programs be set forward so that members may receive programs before meetings.
- President Nininger suggested the desirability in the future of the President of the Society being a member of a faculty of a University
- Meeting Place: Suggestion for consideration that an Annual Meeting be held in Flagstaff, Arizona. Motion tabled for consideration.
- Vote of Thanks: Outgoing Council passed a resolution of thanks to our host institutions for the Flagstaff meeting.

Council adjourned at 3:30 p.m.

THE SOCIETY FOR RESEARCH ON METEORITES

Minutes of Meeting of Council held at 7 P.M. on June 25, 1941 at Flagstaff, Arizona.

Members of Council present: La Paz, Nininger, Leonard, Brady, Monnig, Cleminshaw.

A motion was passed that an expression of appreciation be extended to the

Arizona State Teachers College, the Lowell Observatory, the Museum of Northern Arizona, and Mr. W.C. Goeglein of Meteor Crater for their hospitality.

The time and place for the next meeting of the Society were discussed. The possibility of meeting with the American Association for the Advancement of Science at Dallas in December, 1941, was considered. It was suggested that a meeting be held at least once every two years at Canyon Diablo Meteorite Crater. A motion was passed that the time and place of the ninth meeting of the Society be left in the hands of the Executive Committee.

The Secretary was instructed to send a letter of appreciation to Mr. P. G. McGough for his gift of \$5.00 and three issues of the Scientific American (July, August, September 1927), containing a description of Meteorite Crater. It was voted that the \$5.00 be regarded as the nucleus of an Emergency Fond.

A motion was passed that the Articles of Incorporation, the Constitution, and the By-Laws of the Society be printed in the current fascicle of the Contributions of the Society and that the offer of F.C. Leonard to have 500 additional copies of these legal instruments printed at his expense be accepted.

The Editor was instructed to have printed in the Publications of the Society an expression of appreciation for the support of the Society by such a large proportion of the members living in foreign countries where present conditions are so difficult.

A motion was passed urging the Executive Committee to nominate Lincoln La Paz as the Representative of the Society in the Council of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. The Executive Committee having then made such nomination, the Council passed a motion appointing Lincoln La Paz as such Representative. Chairmen of Committees were appointed as follows: Membership, R.W. Webb; Terminology, F. C. Leonard; Catalog, Addis D. Nininger. It was voted that a committee be appointed for the perpetuation of Meteorite Crater and its protection against vandalism. Council members were urged to suggest names for appointment to this Committee and to those on Endowment and Ownership.

The Secretary was instructed to thank Dr. Daniel O'Connell of the College of the City of New York for the collection of tektites which he loaned to the Society for the Eighth Meeting.

The meeting of the Council was adjourned at 10:15 P.M. C. H. Cleminshaw, Secretary.

COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

The President has appointed the following committees:

<u>Committee on Catalog</u>: Mrs. Addie D. Nininger, Denver, Colorado (Chairman); Oscar E. Monnig, Fort Worth, Texas; S. H. Perry, Adrian, Michigan; L.J. Spencer, London, England; R.C. Vance, Pittsford, New York; W. T. Whitney, Claremont, California.

<u>Committee on Membership and Fellowship</u>: Robert W. Webb, Los Angeles, California (Chairman); Robert G. Brown, Fort Worth, Texas; J. D. Buddhue, Pasadena, California; Clyde Fisher, New York, N.Y.; Leota J. La Paz, Columbus, Ohio; H. H. Nininger, Denver, Colorado; J. Hugh Pruett, Eugene, Oregon: Lincoln La Paz, Columbus, Ohio, and. C.R. Cleminahaw, Los Angeles, California, ex officiis.

<u>Committee on the Proposed Canyon Diablo National Monument:</u> L. F. Brady, Mesa and Flagstaff, Arizona (Chairman); Brandon Barringer and D, Moreau Barringer, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; G. M. Butler, Tucson, Arizona; Clyde Fisher, New York, N.Y.; F. R. Moulton, Washington, D.C.; C.O. Lampland and C. W. Tombaugh, Flagstaff, Arizona.

<u>Committee on Terminology</u> (additional members): C.O. Lampland, Flagstaff, Arizona; Edward S. C. Smith, Schenectady, New York.

C. H. CLEMINSHAW, Secretary