Meteoritical Society Council Meeting January 28, 2025, 3 pm - 5:00 pm (UTC) online only

Minutes for the 1st Meeting of the Meteoritical Society in 2025

Council Members Invitees

Guy Consolmagno (President)
Maria Schönbächler (Vice President)
Nancy Chabot (Past President)
Cari Corrigan (Treasurer)
Jutta Zipfel (Secretary)
Byeon-Gak Choi
Alvaro Crósta

Elena Dobrică Juliane Gross (excused) Marina Ivanova Yangting Lin Yves Marrocchi Gordon Osinski

Guests

Thomas Burbine (AGU Booth)
Romy Hanna (Membership Committee)
Rhian Jones (Endowment Committee)

The following documents were sent to councilors prior to the Meeting:

AGU24 booth report - from Tom Burbine.pdf Membership Committee recommendations - Early 2025 - from Romy Hanna Endowment Committee report to Council January 2025 - from Rhian Jones The Meteoritical Society Overview 012125 - from Rhian Jones

Agenda & Minutes

1. Welcome (President)

3:00 pm UTC

Announcements and review of electronic votes since last meeting, economic status

Council members and guests present were welcomed by the president. The meeting started with a round of councilors introducing themselves. The president explained how business will be handled regarding votes and online meetings. He emphasized the four most important items council needs to deal with: finances, annual meetings, publications (MAPS, GCA & Elements), and voting on awards. He pointed out some upcoming challenges concerning the nomenclature

committee (e.g., database and workload in general) and problems with transition to the new publisher software from Wiley.

The treasurer gave a short overview of the current financial situation. Finances are healthy and in good shape. Taxes have been filed by the past treasurer, Tasha Dunn. Twenty-four applications for endowment grants were received. The new contract with Wiley has started. Monetary prize money was increased for the first time in 20 years.

The secretary reviewed electronic votes since the last online meeting on November 12, 2024.

• The following four motions were electronically voted on in 2024:

49e: Approve changes to rules for the Society awards and the Jessberger Award bylaw to document changes to the prize money for each award and to ensure rules become consistent. (14 November 2024)

50e: Approve the minutes from the Council meeting on November 12. (19 November 2024)

51e: Approve the list with names of members forming the local organizing committee (LOC) for the annual meeting in Perth. (22 November 2024)

52e: Approve the 2025 Elements Budget. (25 November 2024)

• Two motions have been electronically voted on in 2025:

1e Loan of US\$ 20k to the organizers of the MetSoc meeting in Perth 2025 (13th January 2025). 2e Approve Aaron Cavosie as chair of the SOC for the Annual Meeting in Perth 2025 (21 January 2025)

2. Membership Committee

2.1. Early career lunch and meeting in Brussels (Romy Hanna) 10 min plus 15 min questions

3:20 pm UTC

Romy Hanna reported the three top ideas from the Early Career (EC) lunch at the annual meeting in Brussels. 1) Implementing a discussion forum. 2) EC-focused workshop series. 3) Highlight early career talks at annual meetings. She pointed out that these activities are time consuming and may require a small committee to devote its time to oversee these tasks as well as the Mentor/Mentee Program that was initiated in 2024 and should be continued. During the following discussion it was suggested that an ad-hoc committee be formed under the membership committee (MC), and it can be decided early 2026 whether it should become a formal committee or not. Student members on the MC with support from Romy Hanna should lead this ad-hoc committee. Further it was suggested that local students organizing EC activities during MetSoc meetings should be made members on the Membership Committee.

Various ideas were proposed on how to keeping a forum active, e.g., single day events with Q&A sessions about specific topics.

The president summarized the discussion. 1) It was sensed that the ideas of installing a workshop series is worth going forward with. 2) The president will talk to the organizers of the Perth meeting and, with involvement of LPI, making sure EC talks will be highlighted in the program. 3) Romy Hanna will get in contact with Natasha Stephen, chair of the Outreach Committee, to see if there is synergy to develop a discussion forum and its structure.

3. AGU Booth

3.1. Experiences from AGU 2024, plans for AGU 2025 (Thomas Burbine) 3:45 pm UTC 10 min plus 15 min questions

Tom Burbine showed a presentation about the booth at AGU and how it performed. He suggested to do another booth at AGU in 2025. The minimum expense needed to run it successfully would cost around \$3,650, and a fancier version up to \$6,650. He pointed out what had worked and what had not, and presented ideas for future booths. The biggest problem was finding volunteers willing to sit at the booth.

Discussion and suggestions: Selling things at a booth does not work. Keep a QR code and a tablet/iPad so that people could sign up as members at the booth directly. Show meteorites of a decent size. Sponsor attendants who spend some hours at the booth. Hand out meteorites. Design a suitcase with a mix of meteorites and terrestrial rocks which are easy to transport. Have booths at European meetings, e.g., Goldschmidt. Project a running presentations/documentations at the booth.

The president suggests Tom Burbine write a new proposal and both the membership committee and the outreach committee should approve or disapprove it. The proposal should identify a point person and 1-2 staff for the booth, equipment, and estimated costs to run it successfully.

4. Endowment Committee

4.1. Investment strategy (Rhian Jones) 10 min plus 10 min questions

4:10 pm UTC

Rhian Jones reported on a meeting of the Endowment committee with Andrew Crowell from the investment company D.A. Davidson. She summarized the performance and investing scheme for the two funds and reviewed the performance of the ESG fund. Since the ESG fund has performed very well over the last year a series of recommendations emerged. Council voted on the following motions:

Vote 3: Council approves the recommendation of the endowment committee to move US\$ into

the ESG fund now. Move: Jutta Zipfel Second: Alvaro Crosta

all in favor

Vote 4: Council authorizes the endowment committee to move further US\$ into the ESG fund at

their discretion. Move: Jutta Zipfel

Second: Maria Schönbächler and Elena Dobrică

all in favor

Vote 5: To balance both funds to a 70/30 stocks/bonds ratio.

Move: Nancy Chabot Second: Jutta Zipfel

all in favor

5. Loan to Perth

5.1. Background info (Guy Consolmagno) 10 min plus 10 min questions

4:30 pm UTC

The president explained briefly how local organizers are supported with loans from the society before registration fees are collected. Up to now the Perth meeting has received a loan comparable in amount to loans given to other meeting organizers.

The past president, Nancy Chabot, informed council about changes in procedures regarding travel awards that were approved in 2024. Council will be responsible for allocating the money for travel awards. This should provide continuity and knowledge about the different funds and how they can be spent.

6. Adjourn 4:50 pm UTC

Motion to adjourn was brought up by Cari Corrigan. Jutta Zipfel second. The motion was supported unanimously.