# MINUTES OF THE COUNCIL MEETING OF THE METEORITICAL SOCIETY BERN, SWITZERLAND, AUGUST 1981

Prepared: August 22, 1981 — Donald D. Bogard

Attending Council Meeting: V. Buchwald, G. Wetherill, D. Bogard, M. Lipschutz, J. Wasson, F. Begemann, G. Crozaz, M. Drake, H. McSween, K. Marti, H. Takeda, G. Turner, E. Anders, and D. Shaw.

The meeting convened at 6:30 p.m. on August 16 and adjourned at 9:30 p.m.

# Secretary's Report: (D. Bogard)

Present membership of the Society is 758. Since January 1, 1981, 37 new members have been added and 20 members dropped for a net gain of 17. An approximate breakdown of members by geographical area shows U.S., 60%; Europe, 28%; Asia and Australia, 8%; Canada, 3%.

The minutes of the March 1981 meeting of the Council were accepted.

### <u>Treasurer's Report</u>: (M. Lipschutz)

See Attachment No. 1.

Financial statement on status of Meteoritics — See Attachment No. 2.

## Bern Meeting Report: (P. Eberhardt and J. Geiss)

Number of registered participants = 218; guests = 50.

Number of abstracts accepted = 165, as: U.S. = 75, Germany = 40; France = 20; Great Britain = 10, Other nations = less than 10 each.

Eight students received financial support to attend the meeting. Featured speakers also received some support.

#### Meteoritics Editor's Report: (not presented)

See Attachment No. 3.

Motion No. 1 (J. Wasson): That the editor of *Meteoritics* accept recommendations of the Program Committee of each meeting whether to accept abstracts for printing. Motion passed.

#### G.C.A. Editor's Report: (D. Shaw)

See Attachment No. 4,

D. Shaw discussed the problems produced by the Canadian mail strike on receipt of manuscripts by G.C.A. The Council suggested that a comment be added to the "information to contributors" in G.C.A. that authors contact an associate editor concerning their paper in the event the G.C.A. editor cannot be contacted.

Some discussion ensued whether the Society should subsidize G.C.A. for student member subscriptions. Lipschutz is to contact Pergamon Press to determine if student subscriptions without subsidy are feasible; if so, this policy may be instituted as soon as practical.

#### Publication Committee's Report: (E. Anders)

See Attachment No. 5.

Motion No. 2 (M. Lipschutz): That the Council accept the attached contract with Pergamon Press, Ltd.

Motion passed unanimously.

Motion No. 3 (J. Wasson): That A. A. Levinson be asked to accept chairmanship of the Publications Committee. (E. Anders does not wish to be considered for re-appointment to the chairmanship at the end of his present term.)

Motion passed unanimously.

The present members of the Publications Committee are: Ross Taylor, P. Eberhardt, E. Anders, Robin Brett, and Al Levinson.

John Wasson proposed a text for the Article 8 addition to the Society Bylaws. This text was amended as Attachment No. 6.

Motion No. 4 (J. Wasson): That the wording of Paragraph 2 of Article 8 be as in the attached version.

Motion passed.

Motion No. 5 (H. McSween): That proposed Article 8, as attached, be accepted by Council and be presented to the Society members for vote. Motion passed unanimously.

## **Leonard Medal Committee Report:**

See Attachment No. 7 -- Letter from L. Grossman.

Motion No. 6 (M. Drake): That Council accept the recommendation of the Leonard Medal Committee that Robert Clayton be awarded the Leonard Medal in 1982. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion No. 7 (J. Wasson): That the Secretary prepare general comments on the Leonard Medal, on how nominations may be made for the Leonard Medal and for Society Fellows, and on recent Leonard Medal winners and that this information be submitted to *Meteoritics* for publication. No vote was taken.

Discussion ensued as to the desirability to increase the general awareness of the Leonard Medal.

Motion No. 8 (H. McSween): That henceforth the photograph and Society address of each Leonard Medal winner be published in the Journal of Geochimica et Cosmochimica Acta.

Motion passed.

Motion No. 9 (M. Drake): That the Program Committee set aside time in the program each even-numbered year for a scientific address to Society members by the outgoing Society President, and that this address be published in Meteoritics.

Vote: Yea = 7; Nay = 3; Abstain = 2.

Motion passed.

Motion No. 10 (M. Lipschutz): That the invitation from H. Wanke that Mainz,

Germany, host the 1983 meeting of the Society be accepted. Motion passed unanimously.

# St. Louis Meeting Report: (G. Crozaz)

The 1982 Society meeting will be at a Holiday Inn Hotel in Clayton, Missouri, on Monday, September 13 through Thursday, September 16. Crozaz requested that \$3,000 be allocated to support student attendance at the St. Louis meeting.

Motion No. 11 (M. Drake): That the hosts of the 1982 Society meeting in St. Louis be provided \$3,000 to support student attendance at the meeting.

Motion paused unanimously.

Dr. H. Takeda, representing the Science Council of Japan, acknowledged the Society's support for the Japanese Science Council's recommendation regarding "Promotion of Meteorite Research and Space Science Based on Meteorite Studies" and asked the Society that they be seriously considered.

V. Buchwald has made the following committee appointments: Nominating Committee for Officers of the Society: J. Wasson (Chairman), E. Olsen, J. Larimer, E. Gibson, W. Zeitschel, J. C. Lorin, and J. Ashworth. Committee for LPI–sponsored Meetings Concerning Meteorites: G. Wetherill, D. Stoffler, and U. Marvin.

Leonard Medal Committee: Robert Hutchison is appointed for the term 1982-1986, and will replace Peter Eberhardt.