# MINUTES OF THE SEPTEMBER 12, 1982 MEETING OF THE COUNCIL OF THE METEORITICAL SOCIETY

Prepared and submitted September, 1982, by D. Bogard, Secretary.

## **Attending Council Meeting:**

The Council meeting was called to order by President Buchwald at 7:10 p.m. at the Holiday Inn in Clayton, Missouri. Society members present: V. Buchwald, G. Wetherill, D. Bogard, M. Lipschutz, J. Wasson, F. Begemann, G. Crozaz, H. McSween, K. Marti, M. Drake, H. Takeda, H. Wänke, C. Moore, D. Shaw, L. Grossman, and P. Eberhardt.

#### Secretary's Report: (D. Bogard)

The revised minutes of the Council meeting held on March 14, 1982, were approved. A breakdown of Society members by country and partial U.S. zip code was presented (Attachment 1). Results of the election were given as: Vice President, P. Eberhardt; Secretary, D. Bogard; Treasurer, M. Lipschutz; Councilors, F. Begemann, M. Drake, L. Grossman, C. Hohenberg, C. Michel-Levy, H. McSween, H. Takeda, and G. Turner.

Some discussion ensued as to how Council can make "executive rules" without vote of members. It was decided that such ability was desirable but would probably require a constitution change.

Motion No. 1 (M. Drake): That a committee be appointed to consider an amendment to the constitution which would permit "executive rules" to be made by the Council without voting by members. There was consensus on the Council that the committee should examine the entire constitution and, as warranted, recommend changes in other sections as well. Motion passed unanimously.

President Buchwald appointed J. Wasson, M. Drake, and D. Shaw to draft such an amendment and present it to the next Council meeting.

#### <u>Treasurer's Report</u>: (M. Lipschutz)

Finances are in good shape. See Attachment 2. Some general discussion ensued of whether money offered by the Society for student travel to annual meetings should be repaid from the profits of the meeting.

## Leonard Medal Committee Report: (L. Grossman)

The committee considered nine nominations for the Leonard Medal. The two top candidates were presented to Council. The Council voted on these two and elected to award the 1984 Leonard Medal to Johannes Geiss.

Grossman presented the top seven candidates for Society Fellow, as determined by his committee. Some discussion ensued of whether the additional Fellow candidates should also be presented to Council. No action was taken on Fellow election (but see September 14 report).

Grossman presented a set of guidelines for Fellow nominations and recommended that they be made official for future Leonard Medal committees. See Attachment 3.

Discussion of the guidelines ensued.

President Buchwald appointed V. Buchwald, L. Grossman, and M. Drake to a committee to draft a set of guidelines to be used by future Leonard Medal committees in the nomination of Fellows. These guidelines are to be presented to Council.

## Motion No. 2 (J. Wasson)

That the Leonard Medal committee be requested to furnish Council the names of additional Fellow candidates. Motion passed, yes 6, no 2.

#### Report on St. Louis Meeting: (G. Crozaz)

150 abstracts were accepted. About 220 persons have registered for the meeting. Eight students (5 U.S., 3 European) were given \$4850 in fellowships to attend the meeting.

#### Report on Mainz Meeting in 1983: (H. Wänke)

The next annual meeting will be September 5-9, 1983, at the Max-Planck-Institute für Chemie. A concurrent symposium entitled "From Asteroids to Meteorites" will be co-sponsored by the International Association of Geochemistry and Cosmochemistry (IAGC).

## Meteoritics Editor's Report: (C. Moore)

Meteoritics published 411 pages, including 23 papers and 169 abstracts. See Attachment 4.

## G.C.A. Editor's Report: (D. Shaw)

See Attachment 5 for G.C.A.

The joint G.C.A./Meteoritics publications committee requested (through D. Shaw and D. Bogard) that their membership be increased from five to six, that each member serve three-year terms (rather than five-year), and other minor changes. See Attachment No. 6. No action was taken on this proposal on September 12. However, at the September 14 meeting, the following action was taken:

<u>Motion No. 3 (M. Drake)</u>: That Council approve the increase in members of the publications committee from five to six, and a change in term of office from five to three years. Motion passed unanimously.

## Report by G. Wetherill on Committee for Meetings:

The meetings committee recommends that the annual meeting for the Division for Planetary Science and the Lunar and Planetary Science Conference be combined.

Motion No. 4 (J. Wasson, second K. Marti): That Council support the position of combining the 1984 meetings of the DPS and the LPSC. Motion was defeated, yes 3, no 6.

Motion No. 5 (M. Drake): That the Meteoritical Society committee on meetings be dissolved. Motion passed, yes 6, no 2.

Motion No. 6 (H. McSween): That Council accept the offer from K. Keil to hold the 1984 Society meeting at Albuquerque, New Mexico. Motion passed, yes 8, no 1.

A report from the publications committee on the editorship of Meteoritics was presented to Council. Considerable discussion ensued on this report and on the proper role for the journal *Meteoritics*.

<u>Motion No. 7</u> (M. Drake, second M. Lipschutz): That Carleton Moore be asked to serve a four-year term beginning in 1984 as Editor of *Meteoritics*. Motion passed unanimously.

<u>Motion No. 8</u> (M. Drake, second K. Marti): That President Buchwald appoint an editorial advisory board to advise the Editor of *Meteoritics* on journal policy. Motion passed, yes 5, no 1.

The Barringer Crater Co. has proposed an award known as the "Barringer Medal" and has requested Society participation in the selection and awarding of this medal. Council discussed this question and favored a greater role in the selection of the awardee if the Society were to become involved. President Buchwald agreed to continue discussions with the Barringer Co. in the anticipation that an agreement satisfactory to all could be worked out.

The Council agreed to meet again on September 14, and adjourned at 12:45 a.m.

The Council reconvened at 12:10 p.m. on September 14, 1982. Some discussion was made of the election of Fellows. No additional names had been furnished by the Leonard Medal committee.

Motion No. 9 (H. McSween): That the seven Fellow nominations be elected as Society Fellows. Motion passed, yes 7, no 1.

Elected as Meteoritical Society Fellows in 1982: D. Clayton, S. Epstein, L. Nyquist, M. Prinz, S. Rajan, E. Rambaldi, G. J. Taylor.

<u>Motion No. 10</u> (E. Wetherill, second M. Drake): That a full list of Fellows who are still Society members be published in Meteoritics. Motion passed unanimously.

G. Wetherill made a motion that Council accept the committee suggestion (see Attachment No. 7) on the publication of Leonard Medal in G.C.A.

Motion No. 11 (M. Lipschutz): Amendment to Wetherill motion. That the Leonard Medal citation also be published in Meteoritics. Motion passed, yes 5, no 4.

Motion No. 12 (G. Wetherill motion above, with Motion No. 11 amendment): That the Leonard Medal citation, as specifically suggested by committee, be published in G.C.A. and Meteoritics. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion No. 13 (J. Wasson): That the \$3,000 that Council advanced to Washington University to support student travel to the 1982 Society meeting be considered a gift, not a

loan. Motion passed, yes 7, no 1.

Council adjourned at 12:50 p.m.