Meteoritical Society Council Meeting November 12, 2024, 3 pm - 4:00 pm (UTC) online only

Council Members Invitees

Nancy Chabot (President) Guy Consolmagno (Vice President) Brigitte Zanda (Past President) Tasha Dunn (Treasurer) Jutta Zipfel (Secretary) Henner Busemann Sarah Crowther Elena Dobrică (excused) Lan-Anh "Ann" Nguyen Denton Ebel Alvaro Crósta Marina Ivanova Byeon-Gak Choi

<u>Guests</u>

Dominik Hezel (Goethe Universität Frankfurt, Germany)

The following documents were sent to councilors prior to the Meeting:

Audit Committee Report for the Fiscal Year 2024.pdf Proposal to increase awards_final.pdf MetSoc Award Bylaws Rules.2024-11-07.v2.docx

<u>Agenda</u>

1. Welcome (President)

The president welcomes all councilors present and announces all electronic votes since last meeting:

39e Approve the minutes from the council meeting on 17 September 2024. (25 September 2024) 40e Approve Shogo Tachibana as chair of the Joint Publications Committee (JPC) for 2025. (11 October 2024)

41e: Approve the budget for the Meteoritical Society Meeting in Perth 2025. (11 October 2024) 42e: Approve the appointment of Tasha Dunn as Deputy Treasurer for 2025-2026. (29 October 2024)

43e: Approve Jeff Grossman for a fifth term as Meteoritical Bulletin Database Editor for four years. (29 October 2024)

44e: Approve the recommendation of the President to remove Maria Schönbächler, an appointed member, from the Joint Publications Committee as she takes on the duties of Society vice president. (29 October 2024)

45e: Approve changes and updates to bylaws and rules governing the Executive Editor for GCA, the Leonard Medal Committee, the Elmar E. Jessberger Award Committee, the Barringer Award Committee, and the Membership Committee. (6 November 2024)

3:00 pm UTC

46e: Approve Rhiannon Mayne for Chair of the Publications Committee for 2025-2026. (7 November 2024)

2. Treasurer

3:08 pm UTC

2.1. Recommendations to increase awards money from the Treasurer (Tasha Dunn)

The Society awards have not been increased in a long time. The treasurer suggests increasing the prize money to US\$ 2,000 for those awards supported by society funds. (The exceptions are the Barringer Award, supported by Barringer Company, and the Wiley Awards, supported by Wiley Publishing). Society funds are healthy enough to allow an increase in prize money.

In particular, the following changes were proposed: Increase the Leonard Medal value to US\$ 2,000. This award is funded from the general endowment of the Society.

Nier Prize and McKayAward each have their own endowment funds, and the treasurer recommends to increase each prize by US\$ 500. This will amount to US\$ 2,000 for the Nier Prize and US\$ 1,500 for the McKay Award.

Jessberger Award is very different because it is a new fund set up by the Jessberger family which has not yet grown enough to support an increase in value. Therefore the treasurer proposes taking US\$ 10,000 out of the general endowment and moving it to the Jessberger Award fund. This should help to make the Jessberger Award sustainable while allowing an increase in the biannual prize money to a level similar to that of other awards to US\$ 2,000.

Wiley Awards are supported by Wiley Publishing and the amount is written in the contract. This money is set to US\$ 2,500 and supports five awards at US\$ 500 each. In order to increase the value of each award the treasurer proposes supplementing the Wiley award with money from the operating fund to make it a value of US\$ 1,000 each.

Barringer Award is set by the Barringer Company which is currently looking into ways to increase its value similar to the other awards.

Pellas Ryder Award is awarded by the Meteoritical Society and the Planetary Division of the Geological Society of America. The Meteoritical Society pays that award alone and will increase it by US\$ 500 to US\$ 1,500 to be consistent in value with the McKay award.

Discussion:

The decision for an increase of the Barringer Award may take some time on the side of the Barringer Company and an action of council does not need to be taken now. Also it is recommended for council to consider a similar increase in awards' values in a year or two from now.

Motion 47: Approve the proposed increase in Awards' prize money and support the Jessberger Award Fund once with US\$ 10,000 out of the general endowment, and the Wiley

Award recurring with US\$ 2,500 out of the operating fund as proposed by the treasurer, Tasha Dunn.

Move: Jutta Zipfel Second: Denton Ebel all in favor

The president informs that slight modifications of the rules of each award and the bylaw of the Jessberger Award are necessary to provide consistent information about timing and amount of changes to the prize money. Changes to the rules and bylaws will need to be approved electronically to give council time for reading the text that was distributed shortly before the meeting.

3. Audit Committee

3.1. Report about the audit (Dominik Hezel)

3:27 pm UTC

Dominik Hezel thanks Tasha Dunn for her clear report, and he thanks members on the Audit Committee for their help.

The committee suggests evaluating if the 5% margin of spending money from the general endowment could be increased above this margin below a certain threshold value of the endowment.

The Audit Committee would like to get more information about how the money is invested, in terms of country, topic, etc. Coming up is a review of the ethical investing fund by the endowment Committee, likely in January 2025. The treasurer's current impression is that it is developing almost as well as the other funds. She expects a recommendation to council to invest more money ethically. The treasurer will send fund information, e.g., development and investing break down, to Audit Committee for review the next time.

4. Council business

The President thanked departing councilors Henner Busemann, Sarah Crowther, Denton Ebel, and Ann Nguyen for all their work and time spent on council and for the Society.

Brigitte Zanda will leave council after 6 years of being vice-president, president and past president. She is pleased to see things moving forward, and how the Society thrives.

Tasha Dunn has been treasurer for almost 6 years. She was congratulated for her great job! Starting under difficult circumstances she steered the finances of the Society in calm and prosperous waters, and actually even liked and enjoyed what she was doing.

Nancy Chabot's term as president will end by the end of 2024. She was happy to lead the Society through the last two years. She has prepared for this job since 1996 when she decided to become at some time president of the Society. She has done a really great job and set the bar high for future presidents.

Finally, Guy Consolmagno, the incoming president, put forward the following motion:

Motion 48: That appreciation of the Council shall be expressed for everything Nancy Chabot has done for the Society during her term as president.

Move: Guy Consolmagno **Second:** Jutta Zipfel all in favor

5. Adjourn

3:55 pm UTC