Meteoritical Society Council Meeting May 07, 2024, 3 pm - 5:00 pm (UTC) online only - closed meeting - wait until admitted

Zoom-Meeting Link:

J Zipfel is inviting you to a scheduled Zoom meeting. Time: May 7, 2024 03:00 PM Universal Time UTC

Agenda for the 3rd Meeting of the Meteoritical Society in 2024

Council Members Invitees

Nancy Chabot (President)

Guy Consolmagno (Vice President)

Brigitte Zanda (Past President)

Tasha Dunn (Treasurer)

Jutta Zipfel (Secretary)

Henner Busemann

Sarah Crowther

Elena Dobrică

Lan-Anh "Ann" Nguyen (joined at 4 pm UTC)

Denton Ebel

Alvaro Crósta (excused)

Marina Ivanova

Byeon-Gak Choi (excused)

Guests

Marc Chaussidon (Annual Meeting in Paris, France)

Arnold Gucsik (Annual Meeting in Budapest, Hungary)

Romy Hanna (Service Award)

Thomas Kenkmann (Barringer Award)

Sasha Krot (Leonard Medal)

Millarca Valenzuela Picón (Annual Meeting in Antofagasta, Chile)

Thomas Stephan (Jessberger Award)

The following documents were sent to councilors prior to the Meeting:

Report Leonard Medal

Report Barringer Medal

Report Service Award

Report Jessberger Award

Proposal Antofagasta

Proposal Budapest

Proposal Paris

Agenda

1. Welcome (President)

3:00 pm UTC

4:21 pm UTC

Announcements and review of electronic votes since last meeting

Since the last council meeting there were six electronic votes. Council approved 1) the election of 11 fellows; 2) the minutes from the Council meeting on March 7; 3) minor changes to the rules of the Pellas-Ryder Award Committee allowing for posting citations in news and on the website; 4) text for the Outreach Committee bylaw that is now officially added to the bylaws; 5) the report of the Pellas-Ryder Award Committee and its recommendation for Ren Marquez as the winner; 6) Fangzhen Teng as JPC chair in 2024; his term started later because of the EE search for GCA which was led by Conel Alexander, the chair in 2023, who's term was extended to finish that search. These decisions were posted to news stories and sent out in announcements.

2. Annual Meetings

2.1. Proposal for Paris (Marc Chaussidon)10 min application and 5 min questions	3:03 pm UTC
2.2. Proposal for Antofagasta (Millarca Valenzuela Picón)10 min application and 5 min questions	3:20 pm UTC
2.3. Proposal for Budapest (Arnold Gucsik)10 min application and 5 min questions	3:35 pm UTC
2.4. Discussion and Decision (Council only) 30 minutes	3:55 pm UTC

Prior to this Council meeting all councilors received the three application forms submitted for hosting the Annual Meeting in 2028. One excused councilor, Alvaro Crósta, issued a specific proxy to the secretary for voting about these proposals. Each proposer shortly summarized the important points of their application and answered individual questions from Council members. After that, pros and cons for each proposal were discussed among council members only. The president decided to vote by a majority vote. There were two runners up, and the final vote decided with 6:4 votes in favor of Antofagasta, Chile. One council member abstained.

3. Committees

3.1. Leonard Medal recommendation (Sasha Krot)
10 min

There was consensus among members of the Leonard Medal Committee for their recommended candidate for the Leonard Medal 2025.

Motion: Denton Ebel moves to approve the report as written and to put forward the recommended nominee as the winner of the Leonard Medal.

Second: Brigitte Zanda All 10 members are in favor.

The chair, Sasha Krot, reports that the committee's work in general went well. There was one concern regarding the election of fellows. There is a need for including in the nomination package a recent CV of the nominee, as many members are close to retiring and the nominators were either hard to be contacted or not interested in nominating the person for consideration of a fellow anymore. This discussion was tabled for a fall meeting to be discussed in more detail, after the committee completes their work on a recommendation for the Nier Prize.

3.2. Barringer Award recommendation (Thomas Kenkmann) - 10 min 4:28 pm UTC 10 min

There were three nominations considered, and there was consensus among members of the Barringer Award Committee to recommend one nominee as winner for the Barringer Award 2025.

Motion: Tasha Dunn moves to accept the recommended nominee as the winner of the Barringer Medal.

Second: Brigitte Zanda.

Nine members are in favor. One Council member abstained.

3.3. Jessberger Award recommendation (Thomas Stephan) - 10 min 4:45 pm UTC 10 min

There were five nominations considered. One member of the Committee was conflicted with two candidates and refrained from discussion and voting of these. The Committee identified two front runners and there was consensus among members to recommend one nominee as winner for the Jessberger Award 2025.

Motion: Denton Ebel moves to approve the report and accept the recommendation.

Second: Henner Busemann. Ten members are in favor.

3.4. Service Award recommendation (Romy Hanna) 10 min

4:52 pm UTC

The Membership committee considered seven candidates. Members identified two front runners and there was consensus among the Committee to recommend one nominee as winner for the Service Award 2025.

Motion: Denton Ebel moves to approve the recommendation of the Committee.

Second: Brigitte Zanda Ten members are in favor.

There followed some discussion on how to handle opposition letters. The Membership Committee recommends to keep such letters with the chair only, in order to avoid an opposition letter becoming too influential. Such letters should only be shared with the other members of the Committee if a candidate in question ends up on rank one or two. Council welcomed this approach.

4. Adjourn 5:01 pm UTC