

Meteoritical Society

http://meteoriticalsociety.org

2022 ANNUAL MEETING REPORT

The 85th Annual Meeting of the Meteoritical Society (Met Soc) was held in August 2022 in Glasgow, Scotland (UK) as a fully hybrid meeting. The in-person meeting venue was at the Scottish Event Campus in central Glasgow, overlooking the River Clyde. Social events were also hosted within the Hunterian Museum at the University of Glasgow, the City Chambers, and the Kelvingrove Museum. Despite ongoing COVID-19 pandemic-related travel restrictions, in-person participants numbered 442 (including press, exhibitors, and accompanying persons). There were 89 virtual attendees, resulting in a 83% to 17% split for in-person versus virtual attendance—531 participants in total. Virtual talks were given live, or prerecorded where internet restrictions prevented live streaming. All in-person talks were live-streamed on the virtual platform, and all talks were recorded for online viewing by registered participants for one month after the meeting. All posters were also uploaded to the virtual platform, and the option for virtual or live poster presentations was available—virtual and live poster sessions were staggered to avoid clashes. This platform was designed to enable participants to view all presentations of interest, even if they were held in parallel. The hybrid meeting style provided access for those who were not able to travel because of the pandemic, or those who didn't have the financial means to attend in person. All participants were encouraged to wear masks within the session rooms at the meeting venue except when presenting or eating/drinking. Lateral flow COVID-19 test kits were available at all times during the meeting via the reception desk.

The program included two parallel oral sessions, and staggered virtual and in-person poster sessions on the Tuesday and Thursday evenings. The Barringer Lecture was given by Elliot Sefton-Nash from the European Space Agency, and was entitled "Early Mars: A world record." Three pre-conference workshops were organized: Workshop 1: Fireballs and their detection; Workshop 2: Back to the Future -Major findings in the field of impact cratering and unresolved issues; and Workshop 3: Atom probe tomography and correlative microscopy of meteorites and returned planetary materials.



Meteoritical Society Past President Mini Wadhwa, President Brigitte Zanda, and Vice-President Nancy Chabot address the membership at the annual banquet.

The local organizing committee included Lydia Hallis, Luke Daly, Sammy Griffin, Annemarie Pickersgill, Aine O'Brien, and Evangelos Christou from the University of Glasgow, as well as Paul Savage and Robert Steele from the University of St. Andrews and Caroline Smith from the Natural History Museum, London. Martin Lee (University of Glasgow) was the chair of the scientific organizing committee, which included local and international committee members. The travel award committee was chaired by Sammy Griffin (University of Glasgow). Linda Garcia (LPI) and her team provided outstanding support for organizing this meeting. The meeting organization was very challenging, having been cancelled in 2020, and with the continuing uncertainty and increased costs resulting from pandemic-related uncertainties in 2021 and 2022. The author would like to thank all who were involved for their hard work and persistence, and the sponsors and exhibitors (Cameca, Nu, Oxford Instruments, Purdue University, and Thermo-Fisher Scientific) for their financial support. We would also like to thank all those attendees who took the time to fill in the post-conference survey, feedback from which will help improve future MetSoc meetings.

Lydia Hallis, Chair of the MetSoc 2022 Local Organization Committee

SOCIETY AWARD WINNERS

The Society now gives five major awards each year. For more information on individual awards, please see the Call for Nominations and the Society webpage.

LEONARD MEDAL, the Society's highest and oldest award, is given to individuals who have made outstanding original contributions to the science of meteoritics or closely allied fields. It is named for Frederick C. Leonard who was a founder and the first president of the Society. The 2022 winner is **Kevin McKeegan** (University of California, Los Angeles, USA). The Meteoritical Society recognizes Kevin with its Leonard Medal for his work on "the



microanalysis of isotopes including the discovery of deuterium enrichments in interplanetary dust particles (IDPs), oxygen isotopes in the sources of Ca-, Al-rich inclusions (CAIs), discovery of extinct Be-10 in CAIs implying particle irradiation in the Solar System, the oxygen isotope composition of the first CAI fragment from Comet Wild 2, and the measurement of the oxygen isotope composition of the Sun from the NASA Genesis Mission obtained by developing the new MegaSIMS instrument." The citation was given by Marc Chaussidon.

BARRINGER MEDAL AND AWARD, sponsored by the Barringer Crater Company, were created in memory of D. Moreau Barringer, Sr, and his

son D. Moreau Barringer, Jr. The award is given for outstanding work in the field of impact cratering. This year, the Barringer Award is given to **Gareth Collins** (Imperial College, London) and **Kai Wunnemann** (Freie Universität Berlin; Museum für Naturkunde) as the first-ever joint





award for their collaborative development of the iSALE hydrocode and their influential scientific work in understanding and simulating the physics of impact crater formation. The citation was given by Thomas Kenkmann.

NIER PRIZE: This year's winner of the Nier Prize for young scientists in the field of Meteoritics is **Arya Udry** (University of Nevada, Las Vegas, USA). Arya receives this award for her "significant contributions in the petrology and chemistry of Martian meteorites, for advancing our understanding of the crystallization sequences of Martian magmas and for being an effective public communicator of the science." The citation was given by Hap McSween.



SERVICE AWARD: Randy Korotev of Washington University in St Louis (USA) is the winner of this year's Meteoritical Society Service Award. Randy receives this award "for his outstanding contributions to the classification of lunar meteorites, for his creation and operation of the, go-to, website for lunar meteorites and literature on lunar science, and for his extensive public outreach and education efforts in meteorites." The citation was given by Ryan Zeigler.



The **GORDON MCKAY AWARD** and **WILEY-BLACKWELL AWARDS** from the 2022 meeting in Glasgow will be announced in a later issue of *Elements*.

ELEMENTS DECEMBER 2022