MINUTES OF THE JULY 28, 1984 MEETING OF THE COUNCIL OF THE METEORITICAL SOCIETY

Prepared and submitted August, 1984, by D.D. Bogard, Secretary

Attending Council Meeting:

The Council meeting was called to order by President Wetherill at 7:40 PM at the Hilton Hotel in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Council members present were: G. Wetherill, M. Lipschutz, D. Bogard, P. Eberhardt, H. McSween, G. Turner, C. Hohenberg, M. Drake, and L. Grossman. Invited guests present for part or all of the meeting were: J. Larimer, E. Anders, C. Chapman, M. Prinz, D. Shaw, A. Graham, A. Kracher, Y. Ikeda, K. Keil, and S. Regnier.

Report on Election Results: (D. Bogard)

The slate of candidates presented by the Nominating Committee were unopposed and were declared elected by affirmation. The persons named below shall serve for the period 1985-1986: Vice-President, G.J. Wasserburg; Treasurer, E. King; Secretary, D. Bogard; Councilors, D. Brownlee, A. Graham, L. Grossman, C. Hohenberg, A. Kracher, H. Palme, M. Prinz, and S.R. Taylor. The minutes from the March 11, 1984 meeting of Council were approved.

<u>Treasurer's Report</u>: (M. Lipschutz)

See Attachment A

Lipschutz suggested that his secretary receive an "official" certificate from the Society as a show of appreciation of her past efforts in support of the Treasurer. Bogard will investigate the possibility of producing a general certificate to be used in those cases where the Society wishes to recognize special contributions.

The Council expressed its sincere appreciation to Mike for 6 years of meritorious service in the office of Treasurer.

Report on New Mexico Meeting: (K. Keil)

About 295 persons registered for the meeting; 175 talks will be presented. Twelve students received travel grants to attend the meeting. \$2500 of this support came from a grant from the Society. Keil expressed his appreciation to the Lunar and Planetary Institute for their support in preparing for the meeting.

Report on the 1985 Bordeaux Meeting: (S. Regnier)

A full program is planned, including an excursion after the meeting. Meeting dates of July 16-19 had already been approved by Council. The registration fee will be approximately \$80 (US). The organizers will probably request about \$2500 from the Society to support student travel to the meeting.

Meteoritics Report:

See Attachment B previously provided by C. Moore

Geochimica Cosmochimica Acta Report: (D. Shaw)

See Attachment C

Motion #1: (made M. Lipschutz, second M. Drake)

That James R. O'Neil of the U.S. Geological Survey, Menlo Park, be approved for appointment to the position of Associate Editor of G.C.A. Motion passed unanimously

Council gave its support to the publication of a Society membership list in 1984. Fellows will be identified as such in this list. Council also suggested that G.C.A. publish a cumulative index every five years.

Discussion followed as to the various responsibilities for properly preparing and publishing Leonard medal citations. The Secretary was charged with preparing a checklist as to what actions should be taken regarding Leonard Medal citations and to distribute this checklist to the appropriate persons for specific actions.

<u>Leonard Medal Committee Report</u>: (C. Chapman)

The top two nominations for the 1985 Leonard Medal were presented to Council.

Motion #2: (made H. McSween, second C. Hohenberg)

That Eugene Shoemaker be awarded the Leonard Medal for 1985. Motion passed unanimously

Motion #3: (made M. Drake, second C. Hohenberg)

That the Leonard Medal Committee provide a one paragraph citation on each of the two top nominations for the Leonard Medal to the Secretary and Council at least 30 days before the Council meeting.

Motion was defeated: yes 4, no 5

The following nominations for Society Fellow were made by the Leonard Medal Committee.

Don Burnett Ghislaine Crozaz
Mike Gaffey Richard Grieve
Herbert Palme David Schramm
Joseph V. Smith Edward Stolper

Motion #4: (made H. McSween)

That above slate of candidates be elected as Fellows of the Society, subject to each being a Society member.

Motion passed unanimously

(NOTE: The Secretary has confirmed that all of the above nominees are Society members.)

Barringer Award Committee Report: (J. Larimer)

Some discussion whether the Barringer Medal should receive the same publicity as the

Leonard Medal.

Motion #9: (made H. McSween)

That Robert S. Dietz, the nominee of the committee, be presented the 1985 Barringer award.

Motion passed unanimously

Motion #6: (made M. Lipschutz)

That the Barringer Medal Awardee receive the same publicity as the Leonard Medal Awardee.

Motion passed: yes 5, no 4

Action on new Articles to the Bylaws:

See Attachment D

Motion #7: (made H. McSween, second M. Drake)

That Article 10 concerning the Barringer Award be adopted.

Amendment #1 to Motion #7: (made P. Eberhardt, second G. Turner)

That members of the Barringer Award Committee appointed by the President serve four year terms staggered by two years.

Amendment passed: yes 4, no 0

Amendment #2 to Motion #7: (made P. Eberhardt, second G. Turner)

That the Barringer Award Committee be required to present their first and second nominations to Council at least one month before the Council meeting.

Amendment was defeated: yes 2, no 4

Vote on Motion #7 with Amendment #1: Motion passed: yes 7, no 0

The Secretary had received mail votes from Council members M. Cristophe Michel-Levy, Hiroshi Takeda, and Vagn Buchwald in favor of proposed Article 10.

Council decided that adopted amendment #1 above did not constitute a significant change in Article 10, and that the three mail votes in favor of the article should be counted.

Article 10 to the Bylaws is thus passed

Motion #8: (made M. Lipschutz, second H. McSween)

That Article 9 to the Bylaws be adopted

Amendment #1, to Motion #8 (made P. Eberhardt, second G. Turner)

That the Council shall elect fellows from the slate of candidates submitted by the Leonard Medal Committee. Council may also elect fellows who have not been proposed by the

Leonard Medal Committee.

Amendment #1 failed: yes 1, no 5

Vote on Motion #8 as originally expressed: Motion passed: yes 5, no 1

The Secretary had originally received mail votes from Council members M.C. Michel-Levy, H. Takeda, and V. Buchwald in favor of Article 9.

Article 9 to the Bylaws is thus passed

Publications Committee Actions:

Some discussion followed as to what group should evaluate Meteoritics.

Motion #9:, (made H. McSween, second?)

That the Publications Committee shall initiate review of the journal *Meteoritics*. For this purpose only the Publications Committee shall be augmented by four Society members appointed by the Society President. Motion passed unanimously.

E. Anders presented some changes in the operating rules of the Publications Committee. These are underlined in Attachment E.

Motion #10: (made M. Lipschutz, second H. McSween)

That the indicated changes in the operating rules of the Publications Committee be approved by Council.

Motion passed unanimously

President Wetherill briefly discussed the role of the Planetary Meetings Steering Committee.

Some discussion was made of possible hosts for the 1987 meeting.

The Council meeting was adjourned at 11:15 PM