photo credit

The Gordon A. McKay and Wiley Awards for 2018

September 26, 2018

The Gordon A. McKay Awards

Timothy Gregory Timothy Gregory

The McKay Award honors the memory of Gordon A. McKay and is supported by the McKay Fund, established in 2008 as a part of The Meteoritical Society's endowment. The award is given each year to the student who gives the best oral presentation at the Annual Meeting of The Society. The McKay Award for the 81st Annual Meeting in Moscow is given to Timothy Gregory (University of Bristol) for the presentation " Using refractory forsterite grains to test models of 26Al/27Al heterogeniety".

The Wiley Awards

Sponsored by the publisher of Meteoritics and Planetary Science, five Wiley Awards are given for outstanding oral presentations by students at the Annual Meeting. For this year's meeting in Moscow the awardees are:

Jan Hellman (Universität Münster) for the presentation "Thermal and impact history of ordinary chondrite parent bodies inferred from Hf-W chronometry".

Jane L. MacArthur (University of Leicester) for the presentation "Constraining the thermal history of Martian breccia Northwest Africa 8114".

Doreen Schmidt (Friedrich-Schiller-Universität) for the presentation " Laser simulated hypervelocity micrometeoroid impacts: orientation dependent shock effects in enstatite single crystals".

Malgorzata Sliz (University of Bern) for the presentation "Terrestrial ages of meteorites using in situ 14C and 10Be measurements".

Brendan Haas (Washington University, St. Louis) for the presentation "FIB-TEM study of 6 submicron craters from Stardust foil C2113N-A".

Category: Uncategorized