The Barringer Medal and Award is presented annually to a candidate nominated by the Committee.

Barringer Medal and Award: outstanding work in the field of impact cratering

This Committee is comprised of four members appointed by the President; one of the members (whose term expires in a year preceding an even year divisible by four) is nominated by the Barringer Crater Company and appointed by the President. The members serve staggered, 4-year terms. The Chair is normally the senior member and is appointed by the President for a one-year term.

  • Sarah T. Stewart (chair) 2022 (
  • Roger Gibson 2023
  • Thomas Kenkmann 2024
  • Ludovic Ferrière 2025