The Meteoritical Society is governed by an elected Council of Officers and Councilors chosen from its 1000 members in 52 nations; it does not maintain a headquarters or staff. The Society's activities are administered through Committees that report to the Council.

The Society's elected Officers and Councilors
The editors of the Society's publications and website
Nominates candidates for the Leonard Medal, Nier Prize, and election of Fellows
Annual award for outstanding work in the field of impact cratering
Oversight for the journal Meteoritics and Planetary Science
Oversight for the journal Geochimica et Cosmochimica Acta
Members serve as the trustees for the Society's investment fund
Produces an audit of the Treasurer's annual report for each fiscal year
Guidelines for naming meteorites; publication of Meteoritical Bulletin
Selection of candidates for the Pellas-Ryder Award
Nomination of the Society's Officers and Councilors
Recruit and retain members; nominate Service Award recipients
Nominates candidate for best student presentation at annual meeting
Nominates outstanding mid-career female isotope geochemists for the Jessberger Award
The Outreach Committee is an ad hoc committee appointed by the president of the society to increase the society's outreach efforts to the public, to the society and to attracting new members.
The ad hoc Ethics Committee is appointed by the president as a standing committee to draft Ethics Guidelines for the society. The committee functions as a review committee for any ethics complaints brought to the attention of the society.