The Leonard Medal Committee recommends to the Council candidates for the Leonard Medal, the Nier Prize, and, in even-numbered years, for Society Fellowships.

Leonard Medal: outstanding contributions to the science of meteoritics

Nier Prize: outstanding research in meteoritics

Fellows: distinction in meteoritics or closely allied fields

The committee is comprised of five members who serve staggered five-year terms; each year the President appoints one new member. The President also appoints the chair; since 2012 the chair is the member serving in their fourth year.

Committee Members

  • Alexander N. Krot 2025 –
  • Larry R. Nittler 2026
  • Audrey Bouvier 2027
  • Gretchen Benedix 2028
  • Takashi Mikouchi 2029

Previous Awardees: Leonard Medalists, Nier Prize Winners, Fellows