May 11, 2023

To the membership of the Meteoritical Society,

As the Nominating Committee of the Meteoritical Society, we are beginning the process of selecting the candidates for Society offices for the election at the end of this year. If anyone has a suggestion, we would appreciate it if you would email the chair of the Nominating Committee, Tim Swindle, at, or talk to any of the members of the Nominating Committee, by June 1.

We are nominating candidates for Vice President (who then becomes President in the next cycle), Treasurer (who has to be a U.S. citizen to deal with the Society’s banking), Secretary, and eight members of Council.

We would appreciate suggestions for any of these positions. You do not have to have an individual’s consent before suggesting them – we would talk with them if we decide we want to nominate them. Also, if you would be interested in one of these positions, please let us know. Typically, the slate of officers proposed by the Nominating Committee is elected, but there are procedures for nominating other candidates. Details about the election process, and about the duties of the various offices, are in the Constitution and Bylaws of the Society.

Thank you for your support of the Society.

The Meteoritical Society Nominating Committee

Tim Swindle, University of Arizona, Tucson, Arizona, USA (Chair)

Tim Fagan, Waseda University, Tokyo, Japan

Kuljeet Marhas, Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad, India

Caroline Smith, Natural History Museum, London, UK

Myriam Telus, University of California Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz, California, USA

Kai Wünnemann, Museum für Naturkunde, Berlin, Germany

Categories: Announcements