December 4, 2023 Nancy Chabot

Dear Meteoritical Society Members,
We wanted to share some monthly Society news items:

  • Endowment Grant Requests Deadline: 15 January 2024 –  Requests for support from the Endowment Fund are welcomed and encouraged! Details on how to submit a request are given on the Endowment Fund webpage for the two types of grants offered:

    • Endowment Fund Grants support activities that further the goals of the Meteoritical Society

    • Meteoritical Society Research Grants are open to students and early-career researchers to promote collaborative research

  • Award Nominations Are Open – Please consider nominating your deserving colleagues for awards! In particular, nominations for Fellows are being considered this year and only require one letter from a single individual, so take a moment and send in a nomination. Details for all nominations can be found on the Awards webpage. Nominations for the Leonard Medal, Barringer Award, Nier Prize, Service Award, Jessberger Award, and Fellows all have a deadline of 15 February 2024. Nominations for the Pellas Ryder award are due by 31 January 2024.

  • Call for Nominations for the Principal Editor of Geochemistry for Elements Magazine – Elements Magazine is receiving nominations for the role of Principal Editor (PE) of Geochemistry, to replace outgoing PE Janne Blichert-Toft whose term ends at the end of December, 2024. The term for the new PE will be January 2025 to December 2027. Please send your nominations to Cari Corrigan, the Society's representative to Elements Magazine at with the subject line "Elements PE Nomination" by 31 December, 2023.

  • Renew your Meteoritical Society Membership – There are currently 1074 MetSoc members, and 730 of you have membership that is set to expire at the end of 2023. Renew your membership here! Student membership is $10, Early Career $40, Retired $40, Standard $80. There are also options for individuals from developing countries and for Lifetime membership.

  • Ed Scott Lecture Series – The inaugural lecture is now available on the MetSoc website. Plans are underway for additional lectures in early 2024.


  • Gordon McKay Postdoctoral Fellowship at NASA's Johnson Space Center. Find details here. Applications are due by 31 January 2024.

  • Luke Daly to Receive Mineralogical Society Medal. Luke Daly, University of Glasgow, has been announced as the 2024 recipient of the MIneralogical Society’s Max Hey Medal. Since 1993, the Medal has been presented to young researchers in recognition of excellent work in the fields of mineralogy, crystallography, petrology and geochemistry. Read more here.

Share your announcements with MetSoc members – Submission guidelines and other details are given on the society's website.

Thank you for being a part of the Meteoritical Society, and please feel free to reach out to us at any time.
Nancy Chabot, Meteoritical Society President,
Jutta Zipfel, Meteoritical Society Secretary,

You can follow MetSoc on: X - Instagram -  Facebook - LinkedIn

Categories: Newsletter