November 1, 2023 Nancy Chabot

Dear Meteoritical Society Members,
We wanted to share some monthly Society news items:

  • Inaugural Lecture of the Ed Scott Lecture Series: 14 November 2023, 21:00 UTC – The first lecture will be given online by Alan Rubin on the topic of "IIE Iron Meteorites as Ordinary Chondrites." Please see your email for connection information. A recording of the lecture will be posted to the the website following the lecture.

  • Slate of Nominated Officers and Councilors for 2025 – The Nominating Committee is pleased to present a slate of candidates who are nominated to start their terms in January 2025. In particular, Maria Schönbächler is nominated for Vice-President and has shared a brief bio and a statement of priorities for MetSoc. Cari Corrigan is nominated for Treasurer, and Jutta Zipfel is nominated for a second term as Secretary. Councilor nominations include: Byeon-Gak Choi, Alvaro Crósta, Elena Dobrică, Juliane Gross, Marina Ivanova, Yangting Lin, Yves Marrocchi, and Gordon “Oz” Osinski. Please read this news post for additional information about each candidate, as well as for details for any additional nominations, which must be received by 15 February, 2024.

  • 2023 McKay and Wiley Awards Announced – Congratulations to Zoë Wilbur for being awarded the 2023 McKay Award and to Sophie Benaroya, Catherine Harrison, Alissa Madera, Peter Mc Ardle, and Leah Shteynman for receiving 2023 Wiley Awards! Read this news post for more details, and the awards will be presented at the 2024 MetSoc meeting in Brussels.

  • 2023 MetSoc Meeting Report – Read this news story submitted by the meeting co-chairs Ming-Chang Liu and Kevin McKeegan about MetSoc's 85th meeting held at UCLA. Thank you for hosting a wonderful meeting for our society!

  • In Memoriam – We are sorry to share the passing of Hiroshi Takeda (1934–2023) but we appreciate the members that provided this remembrance.

Thank you for being a part of the Meteoritical Society, and please feel free to reach out to us at any time.
Nancy Chabot, Meteoritical Society President,
Jutta Zipfel, Meteoritical Society Secretary,

You can follow MetSoc on: X - Instagram -  Facebook - LinkedIn

Share your announcements with MetSoc members – Submission guidelines and other details are given on the society's website.

Categories: Newsletter