February 1, 2023 Nancy Chabot

Dear Meteoritical Society Members,

First, let us say that it is an honor and a pleasure to be starting our terms as Meteoritical Society President and Secretary. We want to thank Brigitte Zanda for her term as President and for continuing to bring that experience to Council to guide our society for the next two years as Past President. We also welcome Guy Consolmagno as the new Vice President, and thank Mini Wadhwa for the last six years on Council, most recently as Past-President. A lot of responsibility for running our society falls to the Meteoritical Society Secretary, and we want to thank Munir Humayun for giving his time and effort to serve in this position for the last four years. The role of Meteoritical Society Treasurer is crucial to the functioning of our society, and we are delighted that Tasha Dunn is continuing in this position. We are excited about the team we have to lead the Meteoritical Society for the next two years, and we look forward to serving our community.

We have a few announcements to share:

Awards Nomination Deadline: February 15
Please consider nominating a deserving colleague for a Meteoritical Society Award. Nomination packages are due February 15 for candidates to be considered for the 2024 Leonard Medal, Barringer Award, Nier Prize, and Service Award. Details about the awards and the nomination packages can be found on the Awards page: https://meteoritical.org/awards

Ensure You Have Renewed Your Membership
Yearly membership in the Meteoritical Society follows the calendar year, and thus, as of December 31, 2022, some of you had your membership expire. We are able to continue to send you emails, such as this one, for the time being, but you can also check the status of your membership quickly and easily by logging into the Member Portal: https://meteoritical.org/membership/renew

We’re delighted that starting in 2023, the dues have been changed to encourage students and early career researchers to be Meteoritical Society members, with student membership set at only $10 and early career membership at $40, defined as within 10 years of completing a PhD. Please feel free to encourage those interested to join: https://meteoritical.org/membership/join

Call for Hosting the Annual Meteoritical Society Meeting in 2027
We are grateful to have an active membership that volunteers to host and organize our annual meetings, such as the upcoming meetings in Los Angeles, Brussels, Perth, and Frankfurt. Typically, planning starts about 4 years in advance for these meetings, and we are putting out this call for interest in hosting the annual meeting in 2027. Traditionally, the annual meeting has varied its location across continents, to enable participation by our international membership, and we especially encourage interest for the 2027 meeting from hosts that can continue that routine, though all indications of interest are welcome and appreciated. To express interest, email the Meteoritical Society Secretary (metsocsec@gmail.com), who will then follow up with more details.

Announcement of McKay and Wiley Awards from the 2022 Annual Meeting
We’re pleased to announce the awards for top oral presentations by students at the 2022 Meteoritical Society meeting in Glasgow:

  • McKay Award – Kaitlyn McCain

  • Wiley Awards – Ishita Pal, Randolph Rohlen, Daniel Sheikh, Haoxuan Sun, and Zoe Wilbur

Congratulations to the awardees and you can find more details in this news story: https://meteoritical.org/news/2022-mckay-and-wiley-awards-announced

2023 Council and Council Meetings
You can find a list of current Council members, a schedule of the Council meetings for 2023, and minutes from Council meetings here: https://meteoritical.org/society/leadership/council We just completed our first Council meeting of 2023 last week, where we heard from the upcoming annual meeting organizers as well as from the Nomenclature Committee. The posted minutes have details of the two-hour virtual meeting, and one item of particular note is the discussion of the dates for the 2025 meeting: please mark your calendars to join us in Perth, Australia from July 14-18, 2025!

Thank you for being a part of the Meteoritical Society, and please feel free to reach out to us at any time.
Nancy Chabot, Meteoritical Society President, metsocpres@gmail.com
Jutta Zipfel, Meteoritical Society Secretary, metsocsec@gmail.com

Categories: Newsletter